Sonic Electronix

Upgrading amps, how to wire it in with second battery?

So I've bought a RF T2500.1bdcp and I have an AGM battery upfront as is and I've bought another matching one for in the back. But what I'm wondering is do i need a ground run from the front battery to the back or is a frame ground acceptable ? And do I now ground my amps off the second battery or the frame? I have a T1500.1bdcp back there now and my frame grounds have never given me any issues but these couple of uncertainties have me procrastinating this install, I want it done right the first time so I'm not chancing problems later.

Thanks for any help you guys can provide!

I am not an expert for one. As with the second battery you can ground it to the rear, but not sure. I have my ground runs going to the front battery. My amps are also grounded to the back batteries and I have had no issues with them. I honestly don't think you have to ground to the front battery but that's just how I did it. I am sure someone that is smarter than me with more experience will chime in though.

http://www.stevemeadedesigns.com/board/topic/177477-slowboring-07-trailblazer-build/

Pioneer DEH-80PRS
PRV 8MR400-NDY (eight)

PRV TW350Ti (6)
Sky High 1/0 OFC, 12 gauge and 8 gauge
TM Metalworkz battery terminals

120 sqft Hushmat
XS Power D3100 (6)
Singer 350 Amp Alt

Singer 320 (2)
American Bass SQL3200

JL Audio JX360/4

Crossfire XS 8K (2)

DC Audio XL 15s (6)

VbjgkeI_zpsc016cd1e.jpg

I've always grounded my extra batteries in the rear chassis and only ran (+) from the front. I also grounded my amps to a battery and not the chassis. I honestly don't know if it's the right way or not but it has always worked for me and I've had no voltage problems.