Sonic Electronix

Is an upgraded head unit necessary?

Like the title says. Do I need an aftermarket HU or can I run a system with the factory HU? Also, why should I or should I not get an aftermarket HU? My system I'm wanting to build with be 1 possibly 2 15's on a AB 2krms at 1ohm. I'm new to the "professional" systems. That's why I am asking questions that may seem stupid. So, sorry. Lol

I had a VERY OLD kenwood head unit that had two pre-outs and were 2 volt or 2.5 volt. I upgraded my HU because im building my system and my new kenwood is a x399 excelon series i bought from custom sounds for like $130 and its got 6 preouts (front ,rear, and subwoofer) they are all 4 volt. I would say u need a strong deck with 4 volt pre outs or higher and have CLEAN rca signal. On a DD1 my head unit put out volume 35/35 with no distortion. Only factory head unit i kept was in my 96 mustang because it had the factory 460 watt mach 1 sound system. Other vehicals i just replaced with alpine kenwood or jvc decks. Maybe other members will chime in and give u an idea what they run or have ran. I like my kenwood x399 its very afforable clean output of 35/35 and has 4 volt preouts and u can build off it having 6 preouts....

Short answer, you can keep most stock units (you didn't say what you have) but it may not be as clean a signal as an aftermarket. As amplifiers only amplify the signal they are sent, the final product as a whole may suffer.

Static drops are my bag.

Have u done any wiring upgrade ? Throwing a 2k amp on ur stock electrical might cause some problems. U can run 1/0 power wire to ur amp but if ur factory ground wire is only an 8ga its gonna heat up the amp. Look into the bg 3 upgrade if u havent dont that already. To save money u can order 2 gauge welding cable its like $1.50 a foot on ebay and its good for about 200 amps on constant current. That 2k AB amp wont come close to drawing that much current so u will be fine.