Second Skin Audio

Single Sundown x15 - How to get lots of air movement?

Looking to build a box for lows in a 1989 Dodge Colt Hatchback with a Sundown X15 D2 V2. Not a huge fan of SPL just want to move a lot of air and play 14-19hz. I don't need a lecture on it, I just love the feeling and want to go that route with this build. Building a large box or a wall is not a problem, since the car is so small I figured I'd have to sacrifice the entire rear of the car or most of it at least. I'm fairly new to box design, but have been researching the past few months before building a box. I remembered that I used this forum to help with my last box about 6 years ago and loved the results with the help I got from here! Figured I'd give it a shot again.

I was talking to a guy on YouTube, but he doesn't speak very good english. He is on 4K rms, I didn't think a single X15 could handle that much power in such a big box. I asked the volume of his box and port, and he replied to my comment and said "my box makes 170 liters internal (not counting the vent) and 240 liters in total. The frequency of tuned is at 20hz but in a larger vehicle the frequency rises to 28hz"

I put all the parameters into WinISD and I could not get the port volume the same as what he mentioned. The only way I could keep the box at 20hz would be to make the port super long, or super skinny it seems like.

Any help is appreciated! Thanks

His Videos -

Fast forward to  0:57  where he turns it up a little.

How much power are you going to be running?

For the guy you posted above, putting 4K into that sub in a 6 cu foot box is definitely a risky proposition.  The X-15 has a lot of cone excursion capability, but he is probably pushing his luck quite a bit, its not something I would do.