how to do a complete speaker recone

Just a video I made a while ago and never felt like editing.

I felt that most videos on the internet are low quality or very basic in explaining steps.

Its a 20minutes long, but lots of steps are involved doing a complete recone where you have to glue all the parts together, solder the leads to the former and what not.

There is a good amount of info in this video, however there is a great amount of information I edited out due to some of the techniques being somewhat secretive, and wouldnt want companies to get upset if they knew I gave out their tricks of the trade. :hand:

I am not a professional, nor do I claim to be. I do this as a hobby and to help out local friends & competitors, so they dont have to pay $100s shipping heavy woofers back and forth to companies.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KR6bpRaUDsI

• 2 months later...

Nice video

I just have 2 questions if you wouldn't mind answering. 1- how do you know where to pencil in the line for where the spiders attach? And 2- where did you get your shims/glue?

Nice video

I just have 2 questions if you wouldn't mind answering. 1- how do you know where to pencil in the line for where the spiders attach? And 2- where did you get your shims/glue?

You have to measure the spider landing that you are using on the basket, along with the top plate thickness on the woofer, do a few calculations and it will give you the needed measurements.

Shims are nothing special, I normally use xrays, sometimes paper depending on the gap of the woofer. Normal overhead transparency sheets cut down to size will work, as well as manilla folders.

As for the glue, I can not give the brand out, I buy it in bulk, and have a minimum order that needs to be made to actually have the company even waste their time with me being that Im so small time. I will say it is the same glue used by a couple well known speaker manufactures.