Engine running hot but Gauge is fine?

Ok. So first off, I have 1994 Ford Thunderbird V8. Now I've noticed, especially lately, that my engine is running pretty hot. even after driving about a 1/2 mile to my friends house we had to wait for a long time until we didn't get burned by everything. Now the thing is, the temp gauge is always fine, never goes past halfway, and i recently topped off my coolant so that couldn't be the problem. well actually, idk, i'm not an expert. So my question is, is there any reason my engine would be running considerably hotter than it used too? And is there anything I can do about it?

Any help is better than no help. Thanks.

System:

Basically Stock

In process of upgrading

"We had to wait a long time until we didnt get burned by anything"

That doesn't tell us anything....engines get hot lol

x2

if i drive my truck for more than 10min, i have to wait 45min to 2hrs depending on length just to let stuff cool down to the point where i dont melt my skin.

29408240963_9908a51930_o.png
Best Score to Date : 160.5 dB Outlaw (47Hz)[4 XM 15's & 2 Taramps Bass 12k's]

BL :  http://www.stevemeadedesigns.com/board/topic/147800-chevyboy95s-4-15s-7krms-wall-1533-db-on-half-power/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/hitemwiththeflex/

Check your thermostat lately? Checked all hoses? Flushed your coolant system?

Thermostat? No. Hoses seem to be fine, no leaks concerning the radiator. No, I wanted to go with my friend when he got his but I was working.

Get a scangauge or something like that so you can see what the actual temperature is

How do you know its running hot?

It's pretty much based off of how it's been since i've owned the car. And lately, it's been getting WAY hotter than it used to.

"We had to wait a long time until we didnt get burned by anything"

That doesn't tell us anything....engines get hot lol

I went 1/2 mile (if that even) to a friends house. IDK. In my opinion, it shouldnt have been that hot already.