Box for S10 with JL10W7s, Paint, Raptor Liner Oh my!

edit.. this was posted on s10forum, but I thought I would share with you guys. =)

Took me a little while to get to it but I finally got to Texican420's speaker box build. I'm pretty excited to do this. I've never done a set of JL10W7AEs before. Pretty monsterous subs.

Normally I would have built this box to be a single long box. But these subs weight in around 30lbs each. Texican requested that we do 2 boxes so it could be easily removed from the truck by himself. When all is said and done, I'm guessing each box will weight roughtly 45 - 50 pounds. I'm building ported box's tuned to 32hz. From the research I've done, that seems to be a good middle point for most types of music. Each box is around 2 cubes each. Why 2 cubes? The JL Website Ported Encloused Specifications sample box ran at just under 2 cubes.

I used this site to help me with the box math and port tuning: http://www.bcae1.com/spboxnew2.htm and the JL website

http://www.jlaudio.com/10w7ae-3-car-audio-w7ae-subwoofer-drivers-92114to get all the specifications that I needed.

So onto the pictures.

Texcan wanted it so he could still put various odds and ends under the speaker boxes. Jumper cables, jack, some tools. Stuff like that. Here we are doing some test fits. from the lower part of the floor there is about 6" between the floor and the box for space. plenty of room for stuff.

oscar0001.jpg

Test fitting the other side. We made the passenger side wrap around the trim pannels to make it a little bit more of a custom install instead of a basic box.

oscar0002.jpg

Got the first box roughtly assembled and test fitting. As you can see we are going to flush mount the subs.

oscar0003.jpg

Give you an idea with the seat back..

oscar0004.jpg

Other box in there for a test fit.

oscar0005.jpg

Both in there to give you an idea as to how it will look.

oscar0006.jpg

And seats back.

oscar0007.jpg