The Pursuit of a SQ Standard in Car Audio.

tspence73

Hello,

I've been racking my brain for almost 2 years attempting to fathom what exactly sound quality 'is'. Try to find a definitive standard that truly 'sounds good'. So far I couldn't.

So, I decided to sit and think. Is there any place in audio that has a uniform/set standard for audio. There is!

For home theater audio, the only known set standard for audio quality is Lucas film's THX.

There are set standards to qualify an audio system for THX certification in studio production, amplifiers, sound processors, cables and speakers.

The whole purpose of THX certification is to provide a minimum set standard so that you can reproduce the same performance in your home as the engineers did in the studio during mixing and mastering the film sound.

I can't think of a more apt description of what 'sound quality' truly is. It's the very essence of 'realism'. The only TRUE measure of SQ must be a controlled set of parameters that starts:

1. In the studio with properly calibrated microphones & equipment.

2. Through the mixing and mastering stage with a properly calibrated audio system.

3. The media used to store the recording.

3. Then the certified playback equipment.

4. Finally the calibration of the playback equipment to match the way the original mixing and mastering system was calibrated.

THIS is the definition of sound quality and ironically, only in home theater will you find any such set standard.

Now, problem. I've looked into music recordings and found some disturbing information. There is no set standard in the studio for recording, mixing, mastering etc. This is precisely WHY you cannot build a system that sounds perfect on everything you play.