Second Skin Audio

Sub position in enclosure

Hi guys. I'm trying to put a 15" DC level 5 in my trunk. I have a real small trunk and trunk opening to put the box into. I'm wondering if I make an enclosure and put the sub pointed upward if it would really reduce the effectiveness rather than having it pointed to the back or front of the car? Here is a picture of the 'would be' enclosure:

enclosure_zpsa1c53270.jpg

Second question: If I did a 12" instead of a 15" would i lose a ton of dbs? This would be running of a DC 3.5K.

P.s. I'm new at this and not sure if it would also matter what side the port exit is.

Front Mids/Tweeters: Focal K2 POWER

Rear Deck Mids: Focal 165ca

Subwoofer: (1) DC Level 5 15"

Highs/Mids Amp: Mosconi Gladen One 120.4

Monoblock: DC 3.5K

Headunit: Kenwood Excelon DNN990HD

Batteries: Optima Yellow Top (hood), Kinetik HC600 (trunk), XS Power D3100 (trunk)

Car: Accord '08 Coupe... terrible trunk shape : ' (

It all depends on the car. Yes, generally a 15 will be louder because there is more cone area. As far as sub direction and port direction. Some have great luck with sub up and some don't. Same with port, you will have to try and see what happens. I'm still a fan of sub and port back in a trunk but never got to test sub up or to the side.

2013 F150 Crew Cab

Old Build Log

Feedback

2013 F150

Equipment - Some Awesome Stereo Sound Making Stuff

Every car is different. Every enclosure is different. You have to try different positions to find out the best, if your box only fits one way, then you need to build multiple boxes to test.

I would say generally I've had the best luck with sub and port facing the back. Sub up tends to produce a ton of trunk rattle.

As long as you can build the box large enough for the 15", the 15" will be louder. If you have to compromise box size, don't. A 12" in a proper box will sound better than a 15" in too small of a box.