Second Skin Audio

Please Check My Series 6th Design (BassBox6Pro)

WalledSonic

I’ve designed an isobaric 6th order series tuned bandpass enclosure for my wife’s car.  I want to build a series 6th for experience and for science. 

I have a firm grasp of the ins and outs of WinISD, but I am new to BB6.  So I started with measured values from my ported design with (4) 15’s, which I have dialed into WinISD and is pretty accurate.  Then I modeled the same box in BB6 to see the variation between the two programs and measured values.  That gives me a baseline ‘feel’ for BB6.

Can someone check my design?  I plan to test and modify the design to optimize the performance, and then I’d like to funnel that real data back into BB6 so I can really get a better feel for the 6th order designs in BB6.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far… This got me the most area under the curve but also a decent low end response:

[INSERT PIC HERE.  I COULDNT PLACE IT HERE WITH DIRECT UPLOAD]

Low port (for the design shown above) is 6”H x 3”W x 33.3”L, with 2 flared ends

High port (for the design shown above) is 8”H x 3”W x 8.4”L, with 2 flared ends

Goal was to keep port velocities under 30 m/s, cone excursion within limits, and boost the low end response without getting a severe dip between the two port tunings.  I really couldn’t bring the high tuned amplitude response down, maybe I need to widen the bandwidth?  Figured widening the bandwidth would cause an undesirable dip in the middle. 

Here’s the real measured TS parameters (via IM-SG) for the well-broken-in pair of Pioneer TS-W3003D4’s:

Dual voice coil, wired in PARALLEL (for measurements below) and both subs wired parallel to the amp.

Re (parallel, each sub) = 1.6ohm

Fs = 31.4 Hz

Vas = 2.822 cu ft

Qms = 3.706

Qes = 0.494

Qts = 0.436

Mms = 126.9 g

Cms = 0.203 mm/N

Dia = 10.2”

Sd = 81.7 sq in

Xmax = 14mm one way