Sundown Audio

This Sucks... Kicker Fet's?

So apparently my trunk lid leaks... and got a little bit of water on my kicker kx1200.1 The end of the story is probably pretty obvious by now, the amp got a little water in it, I didn't know it was there, and my amp starts smoking. I actually just got done painting it from where a friend screwed it up (new topic on that later) so it wasn't hard to take the cover back off and check for damage. Apparently all that fried was one fet. Anybody know where I could get a new one? Is it worth even trying to contact kicker? I have plenty of experience soldering on electronics boards to feel perfectly comfortable doing it, all I need is the fet.

I guess I could pull it out and check for model numbers etc?

So apparently my trunk lid leaks... and got a little bit of water on my kicker kx1200.1 The end of the story is probably pretty obvious by now, the amp got a little water in it, I didn't know it was there, and my amp starts smoking. I actually just got done painting it from where a friend screwed it up (new topic on that later) so it wasn't hard to take the cover back off and check for damage. Apparently all that fried was one fet. Anybody know where I could get a new one? Is it worth even trying to contact kicker? I have plenty of experience soldering on electronics boards to feel perfectly comfortable doing it, all I need is the fet.

I guess I could pull it out and check for model numbers etc?

Wow, that sucks man!

my one rf amp and american bass 4 channel got a few floods, in the past. but both still worked.

It's a Class D amp (I'm pretty sure?) so you might be in for a bit of trouble.

For a start D class amps often parallel FETs to share the current on the outputs. Because of this they need to be very very similarly matched or they won't load share properly and under high load they could fail again, so you may want to consider replacing all the FETs in that block - usually in groups of 2 or 4.