SQ from large sub woofers ???

Fish Chris

Okay, first off, I'm about a 60% SQ, 40% SPL kind of guy.

I've been running two 12"s in an optimal ported enclosure for about 3 years, and they have been very musical, and pretty darn clean... until I start really over-driving the $#!+ out of them, on one of my bass head kind of days ;) LOL And now, I've finally damaged the spiders on at least one of them. So, time for something new.

I've decided to go with "at least" two 15"s.... but maybe even one 18" Fi Q.

But I'm concerned about the response time (tightness, cleanness, however you want to put it) of an 18" sub, vs smaller 10" or 12" subs ? I know, I know, everybody always says, it has "everything to do with your enclosure" right ? Well I know how to build enclosures, spot freaking on, to manufacturers specs / recommendations. That won't be an issue.

I'm just talking about the straight up physics of the moving of mass. I mean, an 18" sub has a much heavier cone to move. So, can it possibly be as quick, and responsive, as a smaller lighter sub woofer ?

I'm very confident that an 18" Fi Q, set up optimumly, will move massive air, and be great for my techno bass tracks.... but will it be able to play normal, slightly higher frequency bass, for rock, alternative, etc, and still sound great doing it ?

Hmmmmm....

Looking for some of you SQ guys thoughts on this,

Thanks,

Fish

My SQ Sub's (4 10s isoberic) enclosure is tuned to 22 htz for optomized music reproduction ... and really jams when you get down on it too ...

Guess my question would be ... are those "Larger" subs able to tune down that low ?? :shrug:

Kenwood / HELIX / Linear Power (For The Love Of Music) / Brutal Sounds / OverKill Electric Co 

Questions About Sound Quality ?? Try Here ... Sound Quality, What does it REALLY mean ?? 

SMD SOTM Winner "White Lightning" 1997 GMT400 Chevy Silverado   

"The Green Dickle" 1994 GMT400 Chevy "Phantom Dually"