im looking to buy a colorado because i want to trailer my car but also get decent gas mileage.

picture of the car, and add some weight due to the audio stuff

this car will only be on the trailer for a couple hours. no long hauls

IMG_20121115_165322-2.jpg

heres a couple trucks iv been looking at

the one with the 3.5 vortec would be ideal for towing, but could i get away with the 4 cyl?

thanks for any help

SMDSIG799x74.jpg

BHE Wall Build

TEAM DC Audio

TEAM XS POWER
1986 Monte Carlo

KMC Nova's 20"
4 DC XL's W/ PSI Recones
2 DC 5k's
Pioneer PRS 80
10 Audio Technix

6 XS Power D3100's

1 XS Power D3400

Mechman 220a Alternator

3.5 should tow fine, though dont expect fuel economy to be great. Just watch temperatures.. and research for basic issues with the 3.5 such as head gaskets or whatever (just an example, I have no knowledge on the 3.5).

MickyMcD - "Capable of making some serious trouser flapping volumes at where's-my-testicles frequencies, the Servo-Drives used to be fairly jaw dropping..."

Any time you have have a power wire next to your frame put some rubber hosing (or cut up an innertube) around it. The wire is bound to wiggle (due to driving or flex) and the casing will eventually wear through.

Hammerdown... 1%

no links to outside websites, business related FB/YT pages allowed.

yeah you should at least get a 3.5 thats the 5 cylinder... wish i had the v8... but anyways i hauled my 1970 half ton chevy pickup on a car trailer with my colorado. it squatted pretty good so i would consider some heavy duty leaf spring upgrades if you plan on using it for a long time. and i wouldnt haul with it very long you could burn up the tranny. not a for sure thing just a possibility.

Fuel economy and towing can't be used in the same sentence unless it has the wirds turbo deisel too

You could also look into the Nissan frontiers pretty good trucks for the money my sis has ones and its quite a beast,