Best Laptop for the money?

hey guys, I think its about time i buy my own laptop for class, and stop using my mom's :D

Im basically looking for something that will word process, view youtube videos, and surf the net decently. Not looking for anything special. I dont give a fuck about graphics cards lol....

But I dont know which ones are at least reliable.

I have about a 500 dollar limit.

Also one thing, once I get a laptop, how do I put Windows 7 on it? Sorry im a uber noob with computer hardware and software.

DAT 4125------>RE XXX comps active

Eclipse cd7000

I serve drunks for a living :D

I would never recommend a prebuilt Dell to anyone looking for an overall good computer but for your budget and needs I'd say go that way.

Old Setup
03 DurangoRF Power T1 6.5 CompsMids/Highs Amp: AQ4x90Sub Amp: AQ 3500.1DSubs: 2 DC XL 18sBox: 12ft^3 tuned to 33HzMechman 270 Amp AltXS 6500XS 3100 x2

Highest Score to date: 151.2 db @ Headrest

i bought my toshiba at wal mart for like $350 and it hasnt gave me any problems i only surf the web and download and burn cds with it tho nothing special

2 15" DC LVL 5' crescendo 5500 yellow top under the hood and two xs power d3100

Big three upgrade

Rockford Fosgate T162S components in front

Rockford Fosgate T152 in the back

Dynamat everywhere

asus 1000h

250 at best buy, 1.6ghz atom, gig of ram, 160gig hdd. youtube and email and word processing work great.

its small and light and the batt lasts atleast 2 hours of real life usage (online, typing, etc.)

and it has windows xp, so, uk, it actually works.

i'm on it right now and i love it, but i put ubuntu on it, im kinda turning into a linux fanboy

(sony vaio netbook has the same specs, but a smaller screen and no touchpad...its 2000 bux msrp)

the only downside i found is that one value in the keyboard registry is off and will make you double type letters sometimes if you type fast like i do, but theres mad tutorials online on how to fix it and it takes like a minute.