Second Skin Audio

Box Rattle

After completing my box and putting my FI SSD 12 in, I started playing it and noticed a rattle. I figured it would because I don't have the top of my box glued down at the moment and is just screwed down so that was shaking quite a bit. I held it down while it was still playing and that went away but I noticed there is a sort of boomy hammer on wood noise, I've never heard before. I heard before that some people put sound dampener on the inside of the box. Is this a good idea and would you recommend I do this? My box is ported btw.

After completing my box and putting my FI SSD 12 in, I started playing it and noticed a rattle. I figured it would because I don't have the top of my box glued down at the moment and is just screwed down so that was shaking quite a bit. I held it down while it was still playing and that went away but I noticed there is a sort of boomy hammer on wood noise, I've never heard before. I heard before that some people put sound dampener on the inside of the box. Is this a good idea and would you recommend I do this? My box is ported btw.

Or you can glue and screw the top down and try again if it makes that noise...usually fiberglass inside the box, i haven't seen any box yet with sound dampener in them...

Or you can glue and screw the top down and try again if it makes that noise...usually fiberglass inside the box, i haven't seen any box yet with sound dampener in them...
That's the only problem.. If I glue it down it's not coming back off.. Like I said when i held it down the rattle went away but there was a hammer on wood kind of noise

Post pics of the box without the top. Sometimes in bandpass boxes you can do an access to service the subs but in ported/sealed I can't figure out why you have the top off honestly.

Try and see of PL, and then maybe glass/mat solves it.

HOWEVER.. This kinda makes me think about the integrity of the rest of the box..

On 5/8/2011 at 7:38 PM, Kranny said: