Second Skin Audio

jl audio 13w7 recoil to dual 1 ohm?

sinful7

I noticed a place that sells new coils to change from dual 1.5 ohm coils to dual 1 ohm coils.. how hard is it to recone one? and is there a view or a diy walk through on the net somewhere?? SOunds like a good solution to run at 2ohms since that is where my amp is supposed to work at not 3 ohm..

anyone have any helpful thoughts or ideas? and i have searched and nothing on w7 other subs but not the w7 and i have no idea if they are different or not when putting in the new voice coil?

I wouldn't bother. There's videos on youtube in regards of a recone. Try running at 3 ohms and see if it sounds good enough to your linking. I would be more worried about aftermarket kits lining up correctly.

DAT 4125------>RE XXX comps active

Eclipse cd7000

I serve drunks for a living :D

You're really defeating the purpose of a W7 by using anything other than OEM softparts. I'd suggest buying a different amp and stick with the W7, or buying a different woofer.

If the W7 would function as intended with different coil options, JL would offer them in different coil options!

You're really defeating the purpose of a W7 by using anything other than OEM softparts. I'd suggest buying a different amp and stick with the W7, or buying a different woofer.

If the W7 would function as intended with different coil options, JL would offer them in different coil options!

They don't offer a different coil configuration because they only want you running their amps! A w7 would function the exact same if it were dual 1.

actually, no it wouldn't function the same exact way.

because all different parts have a different tolerance.

small things will change things drastically in the thiele small parameters, which can alter the way the woofer plays, the output of the woofer, as well as power handling.