Sonic Electronix

Will this melt my voice coil?

Guest meow meow

I have a brand new Fi BTL NEO 15. I am building an enclosure that was designed by an engineer. Am I going to melt my dual 20hm voice coil with a Sundown Audio SALT-8 amplifier? The amp is under-rated and has dyno'd at 11k+. I just need to keep levels down, correct?

OR: Am I wasting money at a dramatic rate by purchasing so much more than the driver can handle mechanically? Would saving a thousand dollars and stepping down to a 5k be more thrifty and appropriate?

I have enough lithium and alternator to hang with 6 15's, so we don't need to go there.

Thanks!

Are you asking a question of curiosity, window shopping, or is this genuine?

Guest meow meow

100% genuine. I'm about to pull the trigger on the pre-order. The only reason for slight hesitation is that I'm not very experienced, and tech has come a long way since my last build in 2000. The amp is $2100. If I total everything up, the sub with supporting components alone will have cost me approximately $5,000.

This is real. It's just been a while for me. I was hoping anyone with Fi Car Audio specific experience would chime in with at least a clamping power they start to smell coil at.

Guest meow meow
38 minutes ago, Joshdashef said:

enough alt and lith to handle 6 15s..... interested in running a single 15....

That is correct. I have a 270 amp DC Power Inc. alt that I installed on my 2015 VQ35DE motor I have 120ah of Yinlong LTO and all supporting cable and under hood battery delete components. This is a legitimate request for info.

I guess I should have asked a simpler question: At what point do Fi owners begin to experience thermomechanical effects?

Guest meow meow