Second Skin Audio

My Findings...

ParDeus

WARNING: The following post contains actual scientific test results. No anecdotes allowed.

So first a little background. I'm employed as a professional fuck-off. I race for a living, and design/develop and build racing engines. What does this have to do with subwoofers/enclosures?

Airflow. I'm an airflow guru. I've been porting cylinder heads for years. You learn that air does NOT act as you would intuitively think it would.

For the last few months, I have been applying my knowledge and testing procedures from cylinder head airflow to subwoofer enclosures.

I will share some findings, but please understand that I can't share everything I've found, all at once. There is some findings that need to be further tested.

1. 45's in boxes.

Seems pretty straightforward, right? WRONG. I know that air never likes to turn more than +/- 14deg in any direction.

So I made a port with 1 90deg turn. I used a flow bench capable of pulling 60" of vacuum, but pulled 28" WC for all testing.

I tested ports with the same CSA (cross-sectional area), 4 in total on the first round of testing. The numbers were recorded.

I then put 45's in the port, both inside and outside corner, while keeping the CSA the same throughout the port.

Well, on average, ports with 45's flowed, on average, 14% WORSE than ports with 90deg corners. And yes, all variables were held constant.

I then used a pitot tube to do a velocity profile. The flow was it's fastest just after the first 45, which indicates choking and turbulence near the boundary layer. These findings were confirmed by doing a smoke trace as well as a wet flow analysis.

So, in this rudimentary test, it appears 45's to be a hindrance rather than helpful.

Yed, I did test an idea that improved flow significantly over both 90 and 45s. That will be my next post, as it is 4am and time for coffee and a pastry.