Jump to content

Sundown Audio
Welcome to SMD Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Amp clipping indicators ???


60 replies to this topic

#1
Fish Chris

Fish Chris

    140db

  • Members

  • 959 posts
  • Gender:Male
This is another one of those things which will be very important for me at some point in the future...

My current amp, the RF Power 1000, 5ch (my baby ;)) has an LED clipping indicator for each of its 5ch's located on the front (top) panel. And where I have it mounted (on the back, false wall, of my Supercab F150) I can, and always do, look over my right shoulder, to monitor my power output, often trying to adjust all 5 ch to where they are just below the slightest red flicker > Or in other words, max output, with minimum distortion.

Now, I know at some point down the road, I will have to do away with my Power 1000, for a bigger amp. But I really don't know of another amp, which has such a cool clipping indicator, located in such a perfect spot for my uses ? :(

So, the $10K question is > Is their a way to have some sort of inline indicators, for each of your amp channels, maybe which could even be located on your dash ??? Oh, and if so, "in what lines" ? Speakers outputs ?

Geeez, I'm just so spoiled with being able to so closely monitor my power outputs, that I'd be freaking completely screwed up without it !

Peace,
Fish

PS, It might be a little rigged / funky, but most amps do at least have a single little red clipping indicator on one ond, or the other. Could that be tapped off of, straight from the amp, to some very light gage wire, then ran to an LED in the dash ???

Edited by Fish Chris, 03 September 2011 - 10:09 AM.


#2
727Designs

727Designs

    150db

  • Members

  • 1,681 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hiawassee, GA
  • Interests:Streetbikes, My kids, Car Audio, and Powerlifting.
Garage View Garage
AQ amps, as well as a few others have a clipping light on the bass knob. Not sure how accurate it is, then again I'm not sure how accurate the one on your amp is either. A scope or DD-1 is really the best way, do it once and not worry about it.

-Zach-

2010 Toyota Tundra
Full Hybrid Audio SQ

7" BDS on 37's

 

2000 Ford Expedition

160+ dB Green Turd -SOLD- :(


#3
ChevyBoy95

ChevyBoy95

    You have no Declue....

  • Members

  • 5,962 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston
  • Interests:Car Audio
the clip lights are generally accurate iirc, not true clipping though. Oscope or dd1 is your best bet.

16812481782_bcd12e5e1e_c.jpg
Best Score to Date : 158.4dB in the kick (TL Magnum)

BL : http://www.stevemead...-on-half-power/
YouTube: http://www.youtube.c...temwiththeflex/


#4
Fish Chris

Fish Chris

    140db

  • Members

  • 959 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thanks guys, but I think we might be on kind of a different page.

The scope or DD1 would probably be a great idea for setting my gains and such. {In fact, I'd love to have one of the pros here do mine}

But I'm talking about clipping for individual songs, and volume / bass control levels. No matter how perfect your gains and everything else is set up, you can still clip your music, by pushing it too hard.

I just like the visual indicator that I'm so spoiled with on my RF Power 1000. Have you guys seen these ? Its like 5 columns of blue LED's, and the very top one is red. So, you get this little light show going on, which lets you see how close to clipping your getting to clipping, before you get there....

Fish

#5
Maticus

Maticus

    matchu

  • Members

  • 509 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pittsburg, KS
  • Interests:Car audio, Graphic design, Those lukewarm things girls have,.
I've worked with one of these 25 to life amps before, and I must say the light show is pretty sweet!

#6
Stephen

Stephen

    Team CrunkTimes

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 6,541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Home of the sonic boom, FL

the clip lights are generally accurate iirc, not true clipping though. Oscope or dd1 is your best bet.

do you know how the dd1 works? or are you just hoping on the train?

I really have no idea how it works, would like to know the circuitry.

you can cook bacon shirtless if you're not a pussy...lol


not hatin, but am i wrong here it looks as if the amp is not grounded its hooked directly to the battery. it that the way it should be.



Posted Image

Posted ImageDC POWER

#7
Torres

Torres

    175db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 8,835 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern KY
the LED in the amp is most likely just soldered to two points on the board, so theoretically you could just solder two wires in those spots and run them to an LED anywhere you'd like
My GUI Box Tuning Calculator Download - Updated 8/18/2012
GUI = Graphical User Interface

Screws hold down wire and screws on top of screws are to hold the screws below tighter.

~~the light bulb wasnt an invention with 1000 failures...it was an invention with 1000 steps~~

My Feedback

#8
BJD3

BJD3

    155db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 2,043 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BFE Louisiana


the clip lights are generally accurate iirc, not true clipping though. Oscope or dd1 is your best bet.

do you know how the dd1 works? or are you just hoping on the train?

I really have no idea how it works, would like to know the circuitry.

Not certain, but I think the DD1 "listens" for anything that isn't 40hz/1khz. So when you clip and develop harmonics, it "hears" that and throws the light.

Edited by BJD3, 04 September 2011 - 01:27 PM.

Anti Peel and Seal...lol

You may be offended by the above. Don't take it personally, I'm just abrasive.



2002 Buick Park Avenue

DC Level 4 12 D2

Digital Designs M1a @1 ohm

Eclipse CD3200

~1.65 cubes @ 28 hz.

Stinger Roadkill Expert


#9
SR20DAZE

SR20DAZE

    Sticker Whore

  • Members

  • 1,309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:dinuba ca
  • Interests:loud music and fast cars, simple as that
I have the same amp, ray scoped it and its dead on
Hahah damn cody

She ain't that sexy. I wouldn't even let her blow me. Those 10 pounds of make up would end up all over my crotch.


you dont find dubstep, dubstep finds you


hu: Pioneer MVH - P8300BT
mids: Alpine sps-600 all four corners
highs: Addictive Audio ECST25A,Memphis PR tweeters back
sub: 15 inch crossfire bmf
box: 4 cubes at 38 hz
amp: Rockford Fosgate Power 1000 25 To Life
140.7 on a non sealed trunk car with a five channel so far (old sub audiobahn aw1505q)

Build Log
http://www.stevemead...ima-56k-beware/
Feedback
http://www.stevemead...s-bfd-feedback/

#10
Stephen

Stephen

    Team CrunkTimes

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 6,541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Home of the sonic boom, FL



the clip lights are generally accurate iirc, not true clipping though. Oscope or dd1 is your best bet.

do you know how the dd1 works? or are you just hoping on the train?

I really have no idea how it works, would like to know the circuitry.

Not certain, but I think the DD1 "listens" for anything that isn't 40hz/1khz. So when you clip and develop harmonics, it "hears" that and throws the light.


i have a feeling its much more simple. ill stick to my o-scope.

maybe steve will fill us in :peepwall:

you can cook bacon shirtless if you're not a pussy...lol


not hatin, but am i wrong here it looks as if the amp is not grounded its hooked directly to the battery. it that the way it should be.



Posted Image

Posted ImageDC POWER

#11
Bluliner

Bluliner

    120db

  • Members
  • 48 posts
The problem with clipping indicators on an amp is that while they're generally accurate, they don't tell you what is clipping.

For instance, you can be amplifying a clipped signal from a HU or processor. So while the lights on the amp will go out b/c the amplifier isn't clipping...you're still clipping.

To do things right you have to have some sort of indicator for every component upstream or test every component upstream to see where/if it clips and then rely on the lights of the amp. Generally, most higher end HU's will not clip their outputs. The sine wave might look slightly different at MAX, but 1 tick down on the volume and it's a perfect wave. Start messing with the EQ, bass boosts, and whatnot and that wave may change into a clipped signal. Same goes with an EQ. If you adjust your EQ for +3dB at a certain freq, you're are effectively asking the amplifier to double its power at that freq. See where I'm going with this?

It'd be nice to have some sort of "idiot light" to tell people they've gone too far. This would have saved thousands of speakers & subwoofers from the landfill. But it's not the end-all-be-all nor is it a suitable replacement for using an o-scope to set up your system.

Now if you asking for two indicators, one for clipped input signal and clipped output signal, now we're talking. I do not know of any amp that has that and I think that would be a great feature for DIY'rs and lazy installers.

#12
Bacy2k

Bacy2k

    140db

  • 18+ All Access!
  • 801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Virginia

But I'm talking about clipping for individual songs, and volume / bass control levels. No matter how perfect your gains and everything else is set up, you can still clip your music, by pushing it too hard.

if you have the DD1, you find out what the max volume you can play at before 1% distortion and while you do that, you can play around with the bass levels to find out the highest you can go with those as well. and no, if your gains are set perfect you cant "clip your music by pushing it too hard" the only way you will clip by this point is if your voltage drops too much, or youre playing dirty music. so really, if you set your gains with the dd1, dont play above the volume and bass levels you have figured your system starts to clip at, have good voltage and dont play clipped music, youll never have to worry about it.

now if youre worried that your music isnt clean, then i understand what your saying. but its not because youre "pushing it too hard"

Alpine CDA-9886
Hertz Mille 3 ways active

Hertz SPL Show 8's

2 Audison Voce Quattro's
2 DC Audio M2 Level 5 12's
DC Audio 12.0K
KnuKonceptz Wiring
4 XS Power D3100's
DC Power 390XP
Second Skin Damplifier Pro and Dynamat Xtreme

 

Posted Image

 




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users