Revving your engine for demos question.

So i know quite a few of us do it, i mean at higher engine RPM you get a higher amperage output from your alternator, so trying to keep the engine around 1500 rpm while parked, can make a serious difference. But my question is this, is it better on the engine (or is there even a difference) if you were to have it in neutral vs park? Here's where my question originates from, im not a guru on how an engine works or anything but i have some general knowledge, and i seem to remember when i was younger and learning to drive, i was told its not good to rev your engine while stopped, if the car is in park, something about the gears having some hold on them or something i dont really know, i just know i remember learning that and have believed it my whole life (before i got big into car audio and ever saw revving for that reason). But now that i see people everywhere revving while parked, i wonder how many are doing it while in park the whole time, or if any are in neutral with the e-brake on or something, and what effects it could have potentially?

sorry for the long post just wanted to make sure i could convey my question properly.

Fidelity

Built to Last

Team Sound Asleep

24Runner Build Log: http://www.stevemeadedesigns.com/board/topic/196657-24runner-sleeper-system-lots-of-fi-neo-dd-focal-new-video-w-juicebox-lithium/

2 x 12" Fi BTL N2 / 2 x 12" Fi BTL N3

2 DD M3b

Maxwell 2.7V 3000F Supercapacitors

Pioneer DEH-80prs

Focal P165 V30 components

Rockford Fosgate T-400.4

Neutral and park have essentially the same affect on drive gears: they're all disconnected. Wit autos, being in park engages the parking pawl, which is what people unfortunately use instead of the parking brake, that keeps the car from rolling away. In neutral, the drive gears are disengaged, and the parking pawl is not engaged, meaning the car can roll freely if the e-brake is not engaged.

Revving in park and revving in neutral are essentially the same.